2018 Jr. Fire Marshal Awards Presented

2018 Jr. Fire Marshal of the Year

Valdosta Fire Chief Freddie Broome and Mrs. Betty Baty presented Abigail Kimbrough, a 2nd grader at Sallas Mahone Elementary School, with the 2018 Junior Fire Marshal of the Year Jr. Fire Marshal of the Yearaward, on March 26th. She received the award for her knowledge of fire safety, her ability to share this knowledge with her peers, and for her outstanding fire safety essay. Kimbrough is one of 94 city youth in the Valdosta City Schools System who participated in the 2017-2018 Junior Fire Marshal program.​

2018 Jr. Fire Marshal School of the Year

Trey Sherwood of Valdosta Insurance Services, sponsor of the Jr. Fire Marshal program, presented the Jr. Fire Marshal School of the Year award to Amanda Dobard (middle) School of the Yearof W. G. Nunn Elementary School.



2018 Fire Chief’s Award

Jaylen Eady (not pictured), a 5th grader at J.L. Lomax Elementary School, was awarded the 2018 Fire Chief’s Award, for going above and beyond his responsibilities as a Jr. Fire Marshal.

For More Information

For more information on the VFD Jr. Fire Marshal program or about fire safety education programs year round, contact the Ms. Tangela Rowe at 229-333-1835 or trowe@valdostacity.com.






Posted by Marcus McConico Friday, April 13, 2018 4:06:00 PM Categories: Fire Public Information