Downtown Development Authority


The Downtown Development Authority manages the process of enhancing  Downtown’s position as the governmental, cultural, and economic center of the Greater Lowndes County area by involving businesses, property owners, government, churches, and the entire community and by extending the boundaries of the Central Valdosta Development Authority.


The Downtown Development Authority is comprised of seven members all of whom are residents and taxpayers of the City of Valdosta, Georgia.  Three members shall be appointed to a one-year term each and four members shall be appointed to a two-year term each.  The Mayor and Council of the City of Valdosta may appoint one of its elected members as a member of the Authority.  After the expiration of the initial term, except for the Director who is also a member of the governing body of the municipal corporation, the term of all Directors shall be two years.  The term of the Director who is also a member of the governing body of a municipal corporation shall end when such Director is no longer a member of the governing body of the municipal corporation.  If at the end of any term of office of any Director a successor to such Director has not been elected, the Director whose term of office has expired shall continue to hold office until a successor is elected.  A majority of the Board of Directors shall constitute a quorum.

  • Daniel Bayman (Chairman) 
  • Jeff Hanson (Vice-Chairman)
  • Jeff Hanson (Treasurer)
  • Jeff Brammer ( Mayors Appointee)
  • Jamie Phelps (Board member)

Two seats are awaiting appointment. 


The Downtown Development Authority meets as needed with the time and location to be determined. 

Interested in Serving

Any City resident interested in serving on the Central Valdosta Development Authority should submit a completed General Membership Application and a signed Code of Ethics Form to Teresa Bolden, City Clerk,  located in the City Manager and Mayor's office in City Hall, 216 East Central Avenue, Valdosta, GA 31601. 

More Information

For more information, please contact Teresa Bolden, City Clerk, at (229) 259-3503 or E-mail or contact Brandie Dame, Main Street Director, at (229) 259-259-3577 or E-mail.